Eight New Concepts

My church is starting a sermon series (well, started last week) on the Sermon on the Mount, Matthew 5, 6, and 7. Today the pastor talked about why it’s important to study this passage of scripture: it’s basically God’s standard for our lives. I want to share a quick list that he put out, almost as a sidenote to the sermon. These are eight “new” concepts (well, they were new to the Jews in Jesus’ time) from the Sermon on the Mount. They are definitely not conformed to this world!

  1. Hatred is murder. (Matthew 5:21-22)
  2. Lust is adultery. (Matthew 5:27-28)
  3. Oaths are unacceptable. (Matthew 5:33-37)
  4. There is no “eye for an eye.” (Matthew 5:38-41)
  5. We must give stuff away. (Matthew 5:41)
  6. We must love our enemies. (Matthew 5:43-47)
  7. Prayer and fasting are private. (Matthew 6:16-18)
  8. Don’t worry, be happy joyful. (Matthew 6:25-32)

If you need something to focus on in quiet time this week, I think this list is a pretty good starting point. I know I don’t measure up to those standards - how about you?